My dumb eyes

Off topic discussion.
Angel of the Stars
On a Flight into Space

My dumb eyes

Postby Angel of the Stars » 9 years ago

For the past two days my eyes have been burning and sore, but not red. And I've been getting major headaches from it. But since my body is stupid and I always have some sort of pain, my parents are just blowing it off. I think it's from looking at a dumb computer screen nearly 24/7 to do homework, but they won't listen. So now my left eye has been crossing, too, even though I'm wearing my new glasses.
I wish I could just get new eyes.

Earthshine

Postby Earthshine » 9 years ago

It does sound a lot like eyestrain (but I'm not a doctor). :(

If you can I'd definitely see a doctor or maybe even stop by the school nurse if there is one available at your school. Maybe if the school nurse thinks you should see a professional your parents might listen more.

But I have a hunch that it is eyestrain and I think it would be a good idea to try to ease up on the computer time.

To also make things less hazardous to your eyes in the event that pulling yourself from the screen is impossible you can do this;

Dim the screen to the lowest setting so it's not as bright.
Once an hour close your eyes for a few minutes and relax.
When writing up a report make the background of the document black, and the text white so it's not as bright and make the text a little bit big (maybe a 16 point font or higher). Then when you print the document set the settings back to "normal".

When I was working in an office I had to do these things to ease up on eyestrain... they actually helped quite a bit.

I hope this might help, and I hope it's not something serious.

Angel of the Stars
On a Flight into Space

Thanks for the advice. ^-^
I think it's probably eyestrain, too. But I can't do much about it seeing as 5 of my 6 classes are online. @-@